Teacher Evaluation Information » Danielson Information

Danielson Information

The Framework for Teaching

The Framework for Teaching is a research-based set of components of instruction, aligned to the INTASC standards, and grounded in a constructivist view of learning and teaching. The complex activity of teaching is divided into 22 components (and 76 smaller elements) clustered into four domains of teaching responsibility: 

Domain 1: Planning and Preparation

1a Demonstrating Knowledge of Content and Pedagogy

1b Demonstrating Knowledge of Students

1c Setting Instructional Outcomes

1d Demonstrating Knowledge of Resources

1e Designing Coherent Instruction

1f Designing Student Assessments

Domain 2:Classroom Environment

2a Creating an Environment of Respect and Rapport

2b Establishing a Culture for Learning

2c Managing Classroom Procedures

2d Managing Student Behavior

2e Organizing Physical Space



Domain 4: Professional Responsibilities


4a Reflecting on Teaching

4b Maintaining Accurate Records

4c Communicating with Families

4d Participating in a Professional Community

4e Growing and Developing Professionally

4f Showing Professionalism


Domain 3: Instruction


3a Communicating With Students

3b Using Questioning and Discussion Techniques

3c Engaging Students in Learning

3d Using Assessment in Instruction

3e Demonstrating Flexibility and Responsiveness